Reviews

Add A Review
Rated 5/5 based on 24 customer reviews
"I have been going to bigger rehab hospitals for PT for years following surgeries and after 2 appointments here, I wish I had been going to Function First all along for my PT! The staff is so friendly and knowledgeable! I feel like I’ve known them all for years. So far this has been a great experience and I am confident that they are going to help get me back to where I need to be physically and then some! Highly recommend Function First!"
May 30, 2019
From Google
Mar 06, 2019
From Google
Feb 21, 2019
From Google
Feb 21, 2019
From Google
"I am a multi-sport athlete. My sports are my way of life. I am also a swim program director and masters swim coach. When I get injured I need to know I can get back to work as soon as possible. I have always been able to get back to action in minimal time because of Function First Physical Therapy. The staff is knowledgeable and effective. They listen and adjust therapy according to each patient's needs. "
Feb 17, 2019
"Love this place. Such a calm, caring atmosphere. Friendly, but professional. Very good at what they do. Good place to heal. I totally recommend it."
Feb 03, 2019
From Google
"HIGHLY RECOMMEND FFPT! Jim and his staff are extremely knowledgeable and truly put their patients first. Jim, the head PT, is the type that will go out of his way to ensure that every patient gets the best level of care. Pam at the front desk is a wizard with referrals, insurance coverage, and scheduling. The PT assistant, Emma, was extremely welcoming and made the experience enjoyable."
Nov 18, 2018
From Google
"Staff is friendly, helpful and professional. Will definitely go back there for any future needs and heartily recommend ."
Oct 25, 2018
From Google
"The team at Function First got me back on the baseball field and tennis court faster than I could have imagined! No small feat for a beat up 60 year old!"
Aug 31, 2018
From Google
"A wonderful place for PT. Friendly people who go the extra mile to educate you as well as care for you. I feel like I'm in kind, loving hands."
Aug 30, 2018
From Google
"Jim and his staff are excellent!"
Aug 15, 2018
From Google
Aug 14, 2018
From Google
"Was discouraged after 3 rotator cuff surgeries. My experience with the 2 larger PT practices on the cape was not favorable and I really LUCKED OUT with Function First. I liked that it was a smaller practice and I was really impressed with how focused Jim was with ALL the patients. He really listened and incorporated massage and ultrasound (the other 2 practices didn't). I successfully completed range of motion before even thinking about strengthening exercises. The staff is the absolute best! I had a wonderful experience and I feel like I was healed in half the time. I can't thank them enough! They're the best!"
Aug 09, 2018
From Google
Aug 03, 2018
From Google
"I had the best experience with Jim and crew. Thank you for all that you did for me during my time as a patient. I was told by too many people (not Function First) that my injury was common in someone as they grow older. As an athlete I was told to change what I was doing and to respect the fact that I am getting older and curtail what I love doing. This answer was not good enough for me. I went to Function First on a recommendation from a friend. The staff assisted me in returning to what I love and also helped me to improve and become stronger than what I was before. I highly recommend them to anyone who is interested in returning and improving their quality of life/strength. Their knowledge and expertise is evident whether you are an athlete or just someone who wants to feel better after injury. Thank you for getting me back out there :-)"
Jun 26, 2018
"I am currently getting treated by the staff at Function First. They are skilled and professional therapists who genuinely care about each and every person they treat. I have full confidence that when I have completed my therapy I will be totally prepared for normal life as usual. Highly recommend them."
Apr 30, 2018
From Google
"Awesome care, appointments are always on time. Staff are super nice and knowledgeable."
Apr 26, 2018
From Google
"Function first is great. Flexible scheduling, with early evening hours available which was important for me. Jim has an incredible knowledge of the body and I felt confident that I made the right choice after my initial evaluation. Most of my follow-up sessions were with an intern, Joe, who was also extremely knowledgeable and eager to help. After years of neck pain, I'm finally feeling better and starting to do the things I love again. Support staff are supper nice as well, which is a plus!"
Apr 19, 2018
From Google
"It was nice experience all the person are nice and freindly thank you ❤️"
Apr 12, 2018
From Google
"Function First was my 1st experience with physical therapy. The hours are flexible. The staff very professional without rigidity, goal and patient oriented. They listened to my needs and goals, pushed me just enough and snapped be back into pre injury mobility. The facility is small but not stuffy. The equipment is in excellent shape, I felt very safe there. I observed very young patients up to the elderly (I'm mid forties) we all got the attention specific to our needs by the different staff members. If you need physical therapy, look no further!"
Apr 02, 2018
From Google
"I have used Function First on two separate occasions and have been more than satisfied each time. Jim and Keith are fully invested in each patient, and ensure that you are given all the individualized attention you need at every session."
Feb 20, 2018
"Just finishing my third stint at Function First over the last 12 years and I would not choose to go anywhere else. The staff are professional, attentive and knowledgeable. The facility is bright and clean and the equipment is new and well-maintained. I have always had great results from my treatment at Function First and highly recommend them."
Feb 20, 2018
From Google
Feb 01, 2018
From Google
"They are awesome!"
Jan 26, 2018
From Google
"Jim and the staff at Function First are the best !!! It was easy to schedule appointments and everyone was kind and helpful with any questions and concerns that I had. I give Function First a 10."
Dec 28, 2017
"My first experience with PT and it was more than I expected. Jim and his staff were warm and friendly and my shoulder had never felt better. Thank you Jim and Keith for getting me back to being pain free. I highly recommend Function First."
Dec 20, 2017
From Google
"Function First is the best, and not just for for therapy. Everyone there is really great. Its clean, more then properly equiped and a fun place to help you get back to yourself again."
Dec 19, 2017
From Google
"All the staff at Function First are very helpful and positive. It's always fun to come to therapy especially when there are dogs here!"
Dec 14, 2017
"Function First is the best, Jim is a really great person and therapist! When I first came to Function First I couldn't walk, I now can walk, and do almost everything without any problem! This place is great, make sure you come here for physical therapy. I recommend it!!"
Nov 08, 2017
"I went to Function First for physical therapy for my foot. I had been there before for rehab after a rotator cuff operation. I was totally satisfied then which is why I went back. I am totally satisfied again. Jim Hawley and his staff did an excellent job. They are proficient with the therapy, well organized and the facility very pleasant."
Sep 13, 2017
"More than I expected by far. Never had physical therapy before, wasn't sure what to expect, it surpassed my expectations and I avoided surgery. I am now discharged and know the importance of continuing my own personal home exercise program."
Jun 28, 2017
"I went to Function First for a lower back issue that I had for years. For the past couple years, I was seeing a chiropractor who would do a couple manipulations and then send me on my way. It never seemed to get better. After the latest episode with my back, I made my appointment with the Chiro, but cancelled and went to Function First. I had heard nothing but good things and wanted to check them out. I am very happy I did! I received way more treatment at each appointment than I ever did with the Chiro. My issues were fully resolved, as long as I keep up with the exercises. The entire staff is professional and friendly. I highly recommend this place to anyone requiring P.T."
Jun 20, 2017
From Google
"I feel as though I made good progress on my hip and was very satisfied. Instruction of all excercises was excellent also loved the stretching."
Jun 15, 2017
"Everyone was very professional, always making sure you were doing the work properly. The progress they pulled me through was amazing and they managed to make the work fun!"
May 18, 2017
"Always good sessions. People are great!"
May 18, 2017
"Professional, attentive, knowledgeable, caring."
May 18, 2017
From Google
May 15, 2017
From Google
"This was my first experience doing Physical Therapy for myself. I found Jim and his staff to be friendly, efficient and upbeat. I was looking for 1:1 attention and was pleased to receive exactly that."
May 10, 2017
"They're so GREAT!!! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I've been coming here for years for multiple knee surgeries and Jim Hawley has been amazing with designing a strengthening routine that has helped me so much with my recovery. I would highly recommend anyone with an injury or post-surgery recovery to come here."
May 09, 2017
"I'm having amazing results here at Function First with Jim, after knee meniscus surgery. Highly recommend."
May 09, 2017
"I would highly recommend Function First. The staff are awesome.......Treatment and Rehab made my recovery process fast and pain-free. I was always encouraged and comfortable with my care. I refer people all the time.. They are the best."
Apr 28, 2017
"I have only GREAT things to say about my PT experience at Function First! The staff is welcoming and so helpful! Jim is AMAZING!!! I was skeptical of anything getting rid of my knee pain but after weeks of focused exercise, I am feeling better than ever!! I would recommend Function First to any and all in need of pain relief!!"
Apr 28, 2017
From Google
"Great experience everytime I have been treated! The therapists are knowledgeable and experienced. The clinic provides a comfortable atmosphere to the patient. I have been a repeat patient for many years. The staff is also friendly and welcoming."
Apr 27, 2017
"I am completely satiesfied with the Therapy provided on me."
Apr 27, 2017
"I have only GREAT things to say about my PT experience at Function First! The staff is amazing and so helpful! Jim is AMAZING!!!"
Apr 27, 2017
"Jim Hawley @ Function First isd the best, he's put me back together too many times to count."
Apr 27, 2017
"Jim and all the crew at Function First are kind and always make me feel well cared for. He helped me on two separate occasions with spine issues. It is because of his knowledge and support that I was able to keep my sanity before and after disk surgery. I attribute my successful recovery to following his plan of treatment. I will return to Function First for any PT needs. Go see him !"
Apr 21, 2017
From Google
Apr 19, 2017
From Google
"A very professional practice. There is a variety of equipment that are available for patients' use. PT is not usually enjoyable but here you will enjoy every visit. Jim, the head Physical Therapist, is a great guy and fixes up everyone who walks in his door no matter the injury. I recommend everyone to come here. And when you debating on which PT practice to go to, remember Function First has the best PT assistants."
Apr 19, 2017
From Google
"Very professional and courteous! Coming here for a month and my shoulder improved significantly. Jim has been professional and knowledgeable. They make you feel that they care for you and give you all the necessary attention."
Apr 19, 2017
From Google
"After being diagnosed with a herniated disc, I began working with Jim and Keith in December. The care that I have received from them has been fantastic. The debilitating muscle spasms have just about disappeared and I am almost able to do everything that I was able to do, before my back went out on me. In addition to the deep tissue massage and stretches that they do on me, they are sticklers with improving my core strength. The exercises that I have been given have helped immensely, and are always being tweaked when necessary. I highly recommend Function First."
Apr 19, 2017
From Google
"Couldn't walk good when i started great out come for me i recommend them too anyone who needs pt"
Apr 19, 2017
"Excellent care, friendly, inviting staff. Rehab was enjoyable."
Apr 19, 2017
"I had spinal cervical surgery in 2012. I been to a couple of different rehabilitation centets and still didn't have the full mobility of motion in my neck. A friend told me about Function First so i gave it a try and in a week a half, I was moving my neck without any pain. I had both my knees replaced, and after a month I'm already at 120 degrees on mobility. I tell all my friends and even people on the streets, if you need a good rehabilitation center, go to Function First 540 main st. Hyannis ma. 02601."
Apr 19, 2017
"Excellent care! Jim provides personalized, professional, excellent care. I have referred other family members here, and have returned myself for another condition."
Apr 18, 2017
"Based on the eval and one regular session with Jim, I think miracles happen here."
Mar 31, 2017
"Past reviews please submit "
Oct 18, 2016
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

Testimonials

This was my first (and hopefully last) experience with physical therapy. Being a nurse, I have heard many stories about my patient’s experiences with physical therapy and most have not been positive. Needless to say, I was very leery about my first appointment, but I was very lucky my doctor recommended Function First. From my very first visit, the staff was not only welcoming, friendly and supportive, but they were also very professional and knowledgeable. I am very appreciative for the considerate, gentle therapy I received. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Anonymous


Jim’s knowledge, dedication, and creativity was the main reason I was able to get back onto the field as soon as I did. He is by far one of the best P.T.’s I have ever worked with.

Lou Merloni, L.A. Angels of Anaheim


This past summer I was in need of physical therapy due to an Achilles tendon injury. I was referred to Function First through a friend in the medical field. Jim and Donna could not have been more professional with me. They are knowledgeable, personable and take a genuine interest in getting you back to normal as quickly as they can. I have been exposed to many trainers and therapists both in college and in the professional ranks and I can say without hesitation that the care I received at Function First was first class all the way.

Matt W.


Jim is the best Physical Therapist I’ve worked with. He and his staff at Function First Physical Therapy consistently learn exceptional up to date workouts I will do forever.

Matt “Chew” H.


My doctor recommended Function First Physical Therapy after my shoulder operation. After my knee surgery, I knew I wanted to go back to them for rehab as well. I want to comment on what an outstanding job they did with my knee and my shoulder. I would not consider going to any other place for Physical Therapy. Jim and his staff do a very professional and great job and their people skills make the process so much easier. I thank my doctor for recommending Function First Physical Therapy.

Sean M.


Function First was outstanding! Shannon was very pleasant at the front desk. Jim and Donna were professional, and i enjoyed the individual attention. It was like having my own personal trainer. I would strongly recommend Function First for Physical Therapy.

Donna M.


Best physical therapy I’ve ever had, returning me to full function after torn rotator cuff surgery and broken elbow. Didn’t think it could be done, but James and staff did the trick. (P.S. In the past, I’ve broken both ankles twice, my left foot, left arm and right arm. Wish I’d known Jim then!).

Susan B.